The civic bodies of Delhi have merged into one to be called Municipal Corporation of Delhi. Details here


New Delhi: The Indian government has approved the bill which aims to unify the three municipal corporations of Delhi. With the passing of the three existing civic bodies, the East Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC), North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC) and South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC) will now be reunified.Also Read – Delhi car taxi unions strike today even as government announces committee to set fares. Details here

This means the number of wards could be reduced from 272 to 250. The bill was passed by the Lok Sabha on March 30. The unified body could be dubbed the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) and all liabilities, employees, sources of income of SDMC, EDMC and NDMC will soon be transferred to MCD. Also Read – Latest News: PM Modi to inaugurate first-ever Semicon India 2022 conference on April 29

Read also – Delhi hospital patient attacks doctor with scissors


Comments are closed.